the mixed girl series


get a 5 chapter preview of

Poor Little Mixed Girl


Thanks for submitting!

Book One:

Poor Little Mixed Girl

Based on a true life story: As if growing up in the hood wasn’t hard enough, as a biracial half White, half Black girl, LaMonica Powers has to also navigate finding her identity (whatever that means). She’s not accepted in the suburban White schools her mama carts her off to and she’s not fully accepted by the Black community either.


Add in a heaping of undiagnosed ADHD, a cup of discipline dealt out “southern style,” throw in some seeds of God given talent and intellect - and you’ve got yourself a recipe for a pretty, hot, ghetto surprise. It would be a miracle if she didn’t fall prey to the statistical forces pulling at her from all sides.


This coming of age tale is a cross between “A Hero Ain’t Nothin' But A Sandwich” and “A Child Called It.”


If you love banned books then you’ll love this!


Trigger warnings: Racial overtones acted out through politically incorrect speech, alcohol abuse, emotional abuse, child abuse, rape, and very mild profanity.

Book Two: Mixed Out

LaMonica Powers has to figure out if she’s the QUEEN or the PAWN in Bishop’s methodical game of life.


Her decisions will lead her to a lifestyle she’s never imagined.


Who will she trust to guide her – Mama, Bishop, the government, education, or God?


Readers of “The Coldest Winter Ever” will love this milder version of a hood romance and coming of age story.


Trigger warnings: Some racial overtones, politically incorrect speech, underage drinking, emotional abuse, domestic violence, child abuse, and mild profanity.

Book Three: Snakes in the Mix

coming soon!

snakes in the mix ebook cover test.jpg

Praise for The Mixed Girl Series

Poor Little Mixed Girl Review
Poor Little Mixed Girl Review
Poor Little Mixed Girl Review
Poor Little Mixed Girl Review
Poor Little Mixed Girl Review
Poor Little Mixed Girl Review